An Immovable Feast

In efforts to clear the freezer to make room for such staples as bags of frozen spinach and tamales, my excavations into the far recesses to dislodge large and awkward fossils collecting freezer burn have resulted in such myriad surprises as bags of chicken bones and shrimp shells, jars of unidentifiable stew (or potting soil?), and a single piece of cheesecake wrapped in approximately 14 square feet of saran wrap. And then, my numbed fingers sensed the hard, scalloped edge of a copper mold and the memories flooded back – a marquise au chocolat, waiting for its moment. This is a classic French dessert, frozen chocolate mousse turned out of its mold, coated in ganache, sliced thick.  Resisting the urge to run out and buy heavy cream, I made the ganache using cinnamon tea, then set about using my suddenly abundant time to set an elaborate table for myself, accompanied by a glass of bubbly and some crystallized ginger and gummy vitamins – aka immunity candy.  As long as my shelter contains chocolate, I will happily stay in place.  

Leave a comment